HSBC Sevens Rugby Series

The world sevens rugby series is an annual tournament of the world’s best male and female rugby sevens teams. The series is comprised of several weekend-long tournaments throughout the year located in host cities around the globe.

Each event is a weekend of non-stop action filled with heart pounding, bone crushing excitement. And then there’s the costumes!

The sevens tournaments are building a reputation for the most fun, most colourful, most crazy, most amazing weekend of sport. 

The format of the tournament is unlike any other sport I am aware of. Each location has its own flair and crazy mix of fans, but the tournament structure is basically the same at each venue. 

On a typical Day One at a men’s event, you will be entertained by 24 games plus whatever activities are planned for the breaks. Here in Canada you can expect more rugby such as national U18 championships or high school games.

Each team plays 3 games – one game against every team in their pool. Depending on their results, the top-ranking teams will progress to Sunday’s matches in pursuit of the Championship Cup. 

The men’s tournament consists of stops in 10 countries each year and the women’s tournament currently have 5 venues. The men’s tournament features 16 teams while the women field 12 teams. 

The men’s and women’s tournaments are similar with the teams divided into pools where they play a round-robin format on Day 1. The bottom 2 teams in each pool play for the Challenge Trophy on Sunday morning while all other teams progress towards the Cup final. Day 2 is championship Sunday and played in a knock-out style with the winner progressing towards the Cup championship.  The other trophies played for on Sunday are:

  • 2nd place – Plate (silver)
  • 3rd place – Bowl (bronze)
  • 4th place – Shield

It is truly a fantastic spectator experience.

Sevens Rugby Tournament Locations

Men’s sevens series stops

  • Dubai, United Arab Emirates 
  • Capetown, South Africa
  • Sydney, Australia
  • Hamilton, New Zealand
  • Las Vegas, USA
  • Vancouver, Canada
  • Hong Kong, China
  • Singapore
  • London, England
  • Paris, France

Women’s sevens series stops: 

  • Dubai, United Arab Emirates 
  • Sydney, Australia
  • Kitakyushu, Japan
  • Langford, Canada
  • Paris, France

Rugby World Cup

The rugby world cup sevens is a unique festival that includes both men’s and women’s games. The next tournament will take place in San Francisco, USA July 20-22, 2018. The schedule for the Friday includes a 3-hour block of women’s games followed by a 3-hour block of men’s games then another 2 ½ hours of women’s games, finishing the day with a further 2 ½ hours of men’s play. As a fan, that adds up to almost 12 hours of incredible action. The schedule for the remainder of the weekend is similar with blocks of time dedicated to either men’s or women’s play. For a full schedule, visit the Rugby World Cup Sevens website

Sevens rugby has got to be one of the best spectator sports around. Get yourself to one of these host cities and enjoy an unforgettable weekend.

Go to Home from Sevens Rugby